LZ 1973-01-14 Phony Beatlemania Has Bitten The Dust (A Group Personal Project)

Led Zeppelin
“Phony Beatlemania Has Bitten The Dust”
Liverpool, England
The Liverpool Empire

Download from FileFactory:

Remastered Soundboard Recordings

Lineage: Source One: “Days Of Heaven”, (Tattytura), CD-R > WAV > Flac > TLH,Decode > WAV > Remaster > Flac Frontend,Encoding Options, Level.8, Align On Sector Boundaries > Flac

Source Two (Used to patch the gap in “Baby,I Don’t Care”): “Good Evening Liverpool”, (Blizzard),
Silvers > EAC > WAV > FLAC > TLH,Decode > WAV > Remaster > Flac Frontend,Encoding Options,Level.8, Align On Sector Boundaries > Flac

Label: N/A
Original Taper: N/A

This is a group/personal project by “The Magnificent Seven”: The 7th Son, Joel, King Mike, Clint111, JamieL, Porgie, and Acapulco Gold.

We hope that you will enjoy this recording, and will pass it along and share it others, or just pass, the choice is yours.

This is not meant to be a definitive recording.

Thanks go out to:

– The taper, wherever you are, thank you for taping and sharing this with everyone in the community. If you’re out there, and you happen to pick this up, we hope you’ll enjoy it.

– My mate Clint111, and Kingrue for sharing their sources with myself, and the community.

– My mates King Mike, Clint, and Porgie for all their help and input on the recording.

– My mate JamieL for putting together the stellar artwork for this release.

– My friend Mike for doing all those coffee runs for us to stay awake and focused.

Dedicated to “The M6”, and Joe Strummer (the lead singer of The Clash)

Zeppelin maybe my favourite group, but The Clash ARE “the only group that matters”

Disc One:

1) Over The Hills And Far Away (Fades In)
2) Black Dog
3) Misty Mountain Hop
4) Since I’ve Been Loving You
5) Dancing Days
6) Bron-Y-Aur Stomp
7) The Song Remains The Same
8) The Rain Song * + ( Fades Out, Cut, Incomplete Song)
9) Dazed And Confused (Fades In, Includes: “Do The James Brown”, and “San Francisco”)

Disc Two:

1) Stairway To Heaven (Fades In)
2) Whole Lotta Love * (Medley)
– Everybody Needs Somebody To Love
– Boogie Chillen
– Baby, I Don’t Care
– Let’s Have A Party
– I Can’t Quit You Baby
– Stones In My Passway
– The Shape I’m In

3) Heartbreaker (Includes: “Hound Dog” (Tease) )
4) The Ocean


*: Source Two


Please Do Not Convert To Lossy Formats
Please Do Not Sell
Please Share With Others

My Personal Notes:

This project was a lot of fun to put together/work on, (it was nice working on, and listening to recordings from the 1973 tour), and was a complete team collaboration (my deepest thanks again to everyone involved).

This is tight, no nonsense, and very enjoyable performance from the group, with everyone in fine form.

Plant’s voice is still a little raspy, but sounds like he’s on the mend, and doesn’t strain himself when hitting the high notes.

Page has a brief “sticky fingers” moment during the opening of “Over The Hills And Far Away”, but pulls through the error, and finds his groove the whole show through.

Jones is coming on strong, pulling together some great solo’s during numbers like “Since I’ve Been Loving You”, and is quite dominant in the mix of the recording.

But Bonham is the most dominate member in the mix, and I think the star of the show.
He’s pounding the living shit out of his kit with incredible intensity, and he’s really showcasing his talents at this performance, it’s a shame though that he didn’t get to showcase them on his signiture song “Moby Dick”.

This is an unfortunately incomplete recording which is missing the opening track “Rock And Roll”, and has quite a few tape cuts throughout the performance.

The recording is missing the end of “The Rain Song”, the beginning of “Dazed And Confused”, and a portion of “Baby,I Don’t Care” from the “Whole Lotta Love” medley.

For those that might not know, there are 2 different versions of the soundboard tape that have been pressed to bootleg silvers.

They all differ in terms of sound quality, and all run at different tape speeds, but in terms of completeness, none of the bootleg releases use all of the board tape, and they differ in where they make their tape cuts.

Here’s how they break down:

Version One: Have more board tape during “The Rain Song” before the song cuts out, and is missing a small portion of “Baby,I Don’t Care” from the “Whole Lotta Love” medley.

Version Two: Have that missing portion of tape during the “Baby I Don’t Care” portion of the “Whole Lotta Love” medley before the tape cuts out, and is missing a portion of tape for “The Rain Song”.

Version One Releases Are:

Days of Heaven (Tattytura)
The Fabulous Four (Tarantura)

Version Two Releases Are:

Good Evening London (Blizzard)
Live In Liverpool (TDOLZ)
One For the M6 (Crazy Dream)

As I previously stated, each version of the Liverpool recording differs in terms of sound quality,(some are a little louder,some have more bottom end, some are brighter,etc,etc) but there are a few common things that are found on each version of the tape.

The Liverpool recording suffers from very dominant tape hiss, have moments where the sound of the music becomes muffled, and warbled, and the moments inbetween songs where Plant is talking to the audience are very quiet, and low in the mix, almost to the point where it sounds like there isn’t even an audience there.

We wanted to work on this recording to try and fix some of these issues that plague the tape, try and breathe some new life into it, and offer collectors a complete recording (we’ve patched the hole found in the “Baby,I Don’t Care” portion of the medley by combining it with a segement from Blizzard’s “Good Evening Liverpool” release).

What we’ve done to make this project:

– We’ve tried to balance the instruments as much as possible.

– We’ve tried to bring out some of the ambiance of the venue.

– We’ve tried to reduce as much tape hiss as possible.

– We’ve tried to make the transitions from source to source during the “Whole Lotta Love” medley as smooth as possible.

– We’ve reduced some of the “hotness” found in the recordings, and have tried to make the volume a little easier on the ears.

– We’ve corrected the tape speed of the missing portion of “Baby,I Don’t Care” before we connected it to the rest of the “Whole Lotta Love” medley (it was originally running 6% too slow).

Highlights Of This Show Are:

“Misty Mountain Hop”
“Since I’ve Been Loving You”
“Dazed And Confused”
“Whole Lotta Love”
“The Ocean”

The title of the show comes from a lyric from The Clash’s epic song “London Calling”.

We thought it would be a suitable/creative idea for a title because it sort of makes a reference to the city, and the culture where the show takes place (Liverpool being the home of The Beatles), and could also be a reference to the bands performance blowing away The Beatles.

We hope you will enjoy the show.


Leave a Reply